Diagnosis of Fibromyalgia

Fibromyalgia will be considered only if you have been suffering from pain for a minimum of three months. Eleven of the eighteen fibromyalgia trigger points have to experience pain and tenderness for a proper diagnosis of fibromyalgia. These include:

  • Elbows
  • Buttocks
  • Knees
  • Chest
  • Lower back
  • Rib cage
  • Shoulders
  • Thighs
  • Neck
Other tests for fibromyalgia include blood and urine tests, though these are largely used to exclude other possible causes of the condition. Blood tests may include tests to measure alkaline phosphatase and CPK blood levels too.

A doctor will diagnose fibromyalgia depending on your past medical history along with a detailed physical exam. In combination with the eleven fibromyalgia trigger points, symptoms such as inflammation or swelling should not be present. This is because other conditions such as hypothyroidism, Vitamin D deficiency, parathyroid condition, Paget's disease, and other infectious diseases such as AIDS and hepatitis can also mimic symptoms of fibromyalgia.

Frequently asked questions
  1. Jessica Lucia Neves Bastos, Elisa Dória Pires, Marcelo Lourenço Silva, Fernanda Lopes Buiatti de Araújo, Josie Resende Torres Silva, Effect of Acupuncture at Tender Points for the Management of Fibromyalgia Syndrome: A Case Series, Journal of Acupuncture and Meridian Studies, Available online 24 February 2013, ISSN 2005-2901, 10.1016/j.jams.2013.02.001.
  2. Margareta Sandberg, Lars-Göran Lindberg, Björn Gerdle, Peripheral effects of needle stimulation (acupuncture) on skin and muscle blood flow in fibromyalgia, European Journal of Pain, Volume 8, Issue 2, April 2004, Pages 163-171, ISSN 1090-3801, 10.1016/S1090-3801(03)00090-9. (http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S1090380103000909)